Tier 2 — strong

Novel Senolytic Clinical Trial in CVID with GLILD

Mitchell Dittus, Adithi Reddy, Dahir Sharif, Avni Joshi
Journal of Human Immunity 2026 2(CIS2026):eCIS2026abstract.223

Bibliography

Trial registry
View on ClinicalTrials.gov Registered trial — results not yet published in a peer-reviewed journal.
Funding
Not stated in the May 2026 meeting abstract.
Competing interests
Not stated in the May 2026 meeting abstract.

Study snapshot

DesignRandomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled pilot trial reported as a May 2026 meeting abstract.
ModelTen adults with common variable immunodeficiency and granulomatous-lymphocytic interstitial lung disease (GLILD).
Sample10 participants reported in conference abstract; related NCT05593588 registry lists planned n=20 and remains active, not recruiting.
InterventionOral fisetin 20 mg/kg versus placebo on days 0-1 and 28-29; formulation and manufacturer not reported.
DurationFour dosing days across two courses; follow-up through day 180.
EndpointsPulmonary function testing (including total lung capacity and diffusion capacity); SF-36 mental health and quality-of-life scores; Adverse events

What the study showed, in plain terms

A May 2026 conference meeting abstract reports a small randomized fisetin-versus-placebo pilot in 10 adults with CVID-associated GLILD, an uncommon inflammatory lung condition. Selected lung-function and mental-health measurements were numerically more favorable in the fisetin arm, and the abstract reported no adverse events.

This is not a full peer-reviewed trial report, and the publicly listed related registry still reports an active, not-recruiting study with planned enrollment of 20. The partial report cannot establish fisetin as a treatment for GLILD, prove systemic human senolysis or justify consumer dosing.

Key findings

Ten adults were randomized to oral fisetin 20 mg/kg or placebo on days 0-1 and 28-29, with follow-up to 180 days.

The abstract reported no adverse events and presented numerical changes in lung volumes, diffusion capacity and selected SF-36 mental-health measures; spirometry was broadly stable in both groups.

It did not provide a complete full-text outcome report or the statistical detail required to establish efficacy, and findings cannot be generalized beyond this pilot population.

What this study can and cannot tell us

Published only as a conference meeting abstract, not a full results paper. The abstract does not provide all allocation, adverse-event denominators, predefined endpoint analyses, uncertainty intervals or statistical comparisons.

The related registry record (NCT05593588) lists planned enrollment 20 and remains active, not recruiting as of the June 2026 registry update; the abstract reports 10 participants. Final cohort and whether this represents an interim subset have not been verified.

Rare disease population and disease-specific endpoints; no demonstrated senescent-cell clearance, broad longevity benefit, validated self-dosing or product-specific supplement efficacy.

Citation network

Articles citing this research paper

5 articles

Biohack Blueprint analyses that reference this study in their evidence base.

Editorial review

Reviewed by the Biohack Blueprint research team

Last verified